parenting · ramblings

Dear Potential Parents

Having children is not fun and games. Yea sure you get to have fun and be a kid all over again. Well at least that’s what I’m doing! However, in all seriousness, it takes a lifetime of dedication. It takes a lifetime of choosing your child(ren)’s needs over your own. This isn’t a baby doll. The things you do both good and bad will be deep imbedded in this child’s mind for their entire lifetime.  Children aren’t play things. They aren’t dolls that you pay attention to when you feel like it.
I am a stay at home mom. I can’t tell you the number of times I have been called a free loader or mooch. I always find that to be amusing. That’s why my 2 year old WITH special needs is potty trained and your 4 year old is walking around with a pacifier and pull up on. All because I’m a mooch and sit around eating bon bons all day. Now seriously, I know parents have to work. And that’s hard too. I did the single parent working thing. That gig sucked. I’m glad I have the opportunity to be home with my children so I can dedicate all of my time to them.  And that’s what having children is about. Dedicating YOUR time to YOUR child.
So potential parents what I say to you is THINK. No matter what journey in life you are on. No matter what stage you are in. THINK. Those kids don’t go away. You might. (And sometimes I do think that is for that better) But that child will still be in the world needing to be cared for. If you aren’t ready for that job, DO NOT APPLY.

Leave a Reply

