acceptance · me · ramblings

Ideas

 

  1. My happiness is completely up to me. No matter what is going on, I have the power to how I react. People can only walk all over me if I’m laying down and allow them to do so.
  2. My husband and daughters should be my main focus. Sure there are other important people. However, at the core of my focus should be my immediate family. The dynamic of my family is everything to me. As long as I have them, nothing else matters.
  3. Simplify! Not always the easiest thing to do. BUT it is VERY rewarding. Taking a step back and simplifying every where you can will make a major difference on stress levels! It sure did for me.
  4. I’m not going to understand everyone. Some people just aren’t meant to be understood because they are irrational. For example, I can not understand things like selfishness or being self centered. So when those behaviors are displayed, I won’t get it. Nor should I. I won’t bring myself to those levels. And that’s ok.
  5. I’m not responsible for other people (or their happiness). This was a hard one. Really hard. I have a guilty conscious (recovering Catholic). I want people to be happy. If I can I want to help them be happy. This was a very difficult year for this one. Stung very personally and deep to my heart. I even let it repeat  on three occasions before I let it sink in. But I learned my lesson.
  6. I’m going to get hurt. No matter how much wall building I do, eventually people creep in. Obviously this can and will lead to hurt. It’s inevitable. However, this year I have learned that some people are worth it and some people are not. I had to take a hard look at my family and friends and realize some just weren’t worth the pain they caused. Another hard one that was reoccurring. So lesson (painfully) learned once again.
  7. No more excuses. In all arenas of my life this is ringing loud and proud. No more excuses for not being healthy. No more excuses for other people’s behaviors. NO MORE EXCUSES period.
  8. Support is important.  Finding and sticking with the supportive people in my life was essential to my personal growth this year. I have reconnected with some amazingly supportive people. I also have some of the oldies but goodies around. All in all thought my circle may not be large, it’s strong, cozy, warm and loving. That’s enough for me.
  9. Keep it positive. I’m positive with everyone except the person who needs it most myself. I have learned to be my own best cheerleader.
  10. Love myself. This, of course, is just the start. I did alot of soul searching. Tons of inner reflection. I realized I let myself slip into being unhappy.  Kinks around that I had let in that I needed to let back out.  There is nothing for me to be unhappy about. This goes back to all my other points before this. I was too busy focusing on making other people happy. Stretching myself too thin. Not making time for myself or my family. That all ended this year. I took major steps towards bettering myself, both physically and mentally.

 

Leave a Reply

